2012 ISPS Handa Perth International Preview: Leaderboard, TV Times

The inscrutable Jason Dufner one of the international golfing stars in Perth

THE first big event of the Australian golfing summer gets underway this week with the 2012 ISPS Handa Perth International at the Lake Karrinyup Country Club.

Moneywise, it will be the richest event on the Australian calendar this year with a US$2 million purse up for grabs.

The Perth International is co-sanctioned by the PGA Tour of Australasia and the European Tour and besides the cash there is plenty at stake for the international and local pro’s taking part including world ranking points, Race to Dubai points, tour order of merit points – and a spot for the winner in the World Golf Championship HSBC Champions event.

Headlining the international visitors are 2011 US Masters winner Charl Schwartzel, US PGA Tour stars Jason Dufner and Bo Van Pelt and former world No.3 Paul Casey.

Major Australian hopes are with the very in-form Greg Chalmers and top European Tour performer and former local Brett Rumford.

Thirty five year old Rumford is a three time European Tour winner and after a runner-up finish at Gleneagles six weeks ago has been getting back to his best.

Even if Rumford doesn’t secure his first win on The European Tour for five years this week, he is still looking forward to playing a venue the World No. 229 labels as: “the Augusta of Western Australia”.

“It’s beautiful,” Rumford said this week. “It’s an oasis out here, and it’s always had that attraction for Perth golfers.”

“It’s one of those golf courses that you really cherish, and having the opportunity to come play is fantastic. There are kangaroos out here and the wildlife is amazing and the natural fauna. You’re driving through the front gates and it’s in this really secluded area you’ve never been able to see in, so you always wonder what’s going on behind that gate.

“I’m just so happy that the Perth International is here this week. I think from a spectator’s perspective, as well, it’s very easy to get around, so I think that is a plus for the viewers.”

The tournament will be broadcast to 350 million homes in over 65 countries.

2012 Perth International TV Times

The event will be covered in Australia by Fox Sports with some very viewer-friendly times in the eastern states.

Thursday – Sunday (October 18-21, 2012)

3:30 – 8:30pm (Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra, Hobart)

3:00pm – 8:00pm (Adelaide)

2:30pm – 7:30pm (Brisbane)

2:00pm – 7:00pm (Darwin)

12:30pm – 5:30pm (Perth)

2012 ISPS Handa Perth International Leaderboard

ISPS Handa Perth International Leaderboard

SHARE
Previous articleFormer Test cricketer Greg Blewett joins Mid-Amateur field
Next articleKatherine Hull Chipping Instruction Video

Brian is a former Sydney journalist who didn’t have a skerrick of interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded Australian Senior Golfer in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Tom Watson, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here