Ogilvy and Scott join Shark at Australian Open 2009

GEOFF OGILVY, Adam Scott, Aaron Baddeley, John Senden and Greg Chalmers have all confirmed they will be joining Greg Norman when the Australian Open takes to the cliffs of La Perouse in December.

It should be a magnificent tournament with Ogilvy, current world number eight, heading the charge for the Stonehaven Cup.

Former world number three Scott could also play a big role.

His form has been improving of late and he will be gunning to do well after missing the Open last year due to a beach incident knee injury.

The Shark has been thereabout of late and we at least know he has been getting some consistent big tournament conditioning with three back to back appearances at the British Open, Senior British Open and US Senior Open.

John Senden (2006 Winner) and Greg Chalmers have also recently shown their class, taking the fight up to Tiger Woods as both finished in a tie for second place at the Buick Open at the weekend.

Ogilvy is keenly chasing his first Open title, but broke through to claim his maiden win on home soil at the Australian PGA Championship last year.

”I am looking forward to returning to Sydney in my quest to win the Australian Open,” he said from the US.

“It’s great to have Greg (Norman) playing again as he adds so much to the championship. The NSW Golf Club will certainly test the players with the strong ocean breezes.”

Golf Australia CEO Stephen Pitt says there are now 11 Australians in the world’s Top 100 and this will give the 2009 Australian Open incredible depth and added excitement for the fans.

Pitt said it again proved that the hottest talents in Australian golf wanted to compete at their national open.

“We are committed to having our best Australian golfers play at New South Wales Golf Club on the stunning cliffs at La Perouse.”

The Open will be held at the NSW Golf Club from December 3-6.

Australians in World Top 100 as at Tuesday 4 August, 2009:

1. Geoff Ogilvy 8
2. Robert Allenby 42
3. Adam Scott 44
4. Matthew Goggin 49
5. Brendan Jones 61
6. Aaron Baddeley 75
7. Michael Sim 81
8. Rod Pampling 83
9. John Senden 89
10. Stuart Appleby 90
11. Richard Green 95


Leave a Reply