2012 Travelers Championship Preview: Leaderboard

Simpson still riding high after US Open win

THE US PGA Tour moves to the TPC River Highlands in Connecticut this week for the 2012 Travelers Championship.

The hosts are cock-a-hoop they can feature an all American group that features the winners of the last three major golf championships.

That feature grouping is major new-boy Webb Simpson, 2012 US Masters winner Bubba Watson and last year’s US PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley.

Simpson will still be riding high just days after his historic US Open win and from receiving personal congratulations from the likes of Arnold Palmer, Tom Watson, Hale Irwin and Greg Norman, who rang the 26 year old and left a voicemail.

“It hadn’t really sunk in,” Simpson said this week at the Travelers Championship. “I’ve gotten so many texts and messages on Twitter. I got some emails from older guys who I’ve looked up to my whole life that I didn’t expect. I’ve got a couple of emails from older golfers that I’m probably going to print out and frame.”

The Travelers field also includes nine other major winners as well as tour winners this year including Hunter Mahan and Matt Kuchar. The defending champion is Sweden’s Fredrik Jacobson.

Australia has 11 entrants including rookie Bryden Macpherson, Marc Leishman, Aaron Baddeley, Nathan Green, Mathew Goggin, Greg Chalmers, Robert Allenby, Nick O’Hern, Stuart Appleby, Rod Pampling and Gavin Coles.

2012 Travelers Championship golf TV coverage

The event is being telecast in Australia on Fox Sports with live and repeat programming.

Round 1; Friday 22nd June, 5am-8.am & 7.30pm – 9.30pm, Fox Sports 1

Round2; Saturday 23rd June, 5am-8am & 4pm – 6.30pm Fox Sports 1

Round 3; Sunday 24th June, 3am – 4.30am & 5am-8am, Fox Sports 2

Round 4; Monday 25th June, 3am – 4.30am, 5am – 8am, 1pm – 3pm & 7.30pm – 9.30pm, Fox Sports 1

2012 Travelers Championship Leaderboard

2012 Travelers Championship
Previous articleVictorians honoured at Golf Industry Awards
Next articleChampions Tour in Quebec
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply