Victorians honoured at Golf Industry Awards

Hall of Fame inductee Ian Stanley won the 2001 Senior British Open

FIVE members of the Victorian Golf Industry were officially recognised for their years of dedication and hard work at a special ceremony at the Melbourne Cricket Ground this week.

John Davis, Bill Edgar, Mona McLeod, Brian Simpson and Ian Stanley were inducted into the prestigious Hall of Fame, recognising their exceptional service to the golf industry in Australia.

Hall of Fame inductee, Ian Stanley joined the PGA in 1971 and was a prolific tournament winner in Australasia. After turning 50, Ian joined the European Seniors Tour where he won three times including the Senior British Open Championship in 2001 and topped the Order of Merit.

“I am really thrilled and it’s a great honour to be included in the Victorian Hall of Fame with all the other inductees,” said Stanley.

“It is an achievement that I am very proud of and I will cherish it as one of my career highlights.”

Another Hall of Fame inductee, John Davis was awarded PGA Member of the Year in 2003 and was the Director, State Coaching Victorian Golf Association (VGA) for 13 years. He has been a PGA Member since 1954.

Brian Simpson commenced at the Victoria Golf Club in May 1973 and has been the Head Professional for 38 years, a position he continues to hold today.

Bill Edgar was known as Australia’s Bobby Jones in the 1930’s. He had the smoothest swing that never changed, so much so that he played off scratch or better for 39 consecutive years. His award was accepted posthumously by his biographer, David Worley.

Mona McLeod won the Australian Championship in 1921, 1926, 1927 and 1932, and was runner up in 1925, 1928 and 1931. She won the Victorian title in 1921, 1926, 1928, 1932 and 1933, and was runner up in 1924. She was honoured for her trail blazing influence on women’s golf in Australia. Her award was accepted posthumously by Paul Rak, CEO of The Royal Melbourne Golf Club.

Along with the Hall of Fame inductees, both individuals and clubs were recognised for their achievements and involvement in the promotion of the game of golf, including Anthony Craswell who received the award for the CPM Bruce Green Victorian Club Professional of the Year, Steven Giuliano for Victorian Teaching Professional of the Year and Richard Chambers the 2011 Trainee of the Year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here