2011 Australian Men’s Senior Match Play Championship

THE 2011 Australian Men’s Senior Match Play Championship is underway at the Thirteenth Beach Golf Links in Victoria with competitors battling some wild and windy weather as well as each other.

The leading 32 players from the Australian Men’s Senior Ranking System as well as a new Super Senior Section for the leading 8 players aged 65 years and over are taking part.

The preliminary rounds were on Monday and Tuesday with the Finals on Wednesday October 26.

Top seed Stefan Albinski was safely through the early rounds as was defending champion Chris Coats.

The first day was not without its upsets with New Zealand’s Rodney Barltrop defeating the number two seed Denis Dale in the first round 2&1.

Barltrop had 10 up and downs and holed a 4-iron on the 17th hole for eagle to defeat the New South welshman. The number three seed Roy Vandersluis also lost in the first round  to South Australia’s Ken Brown.

The 2010 runner up  Colin Hallam was still in contention with two good wins, while in the Super Senior Section, the top seeds in the two pools, Tony Mazzone and Pat Giles, both had good wins.

Previous articleDonald secures historic double
Next article2011 Australian Veteran National Championship underway in Hobart
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply