Albinski takes third national senior amateur golf title

STEFAN Albinski has won his third Australian Men’s Senior Amateur Championship with a five stroke victory at Tanunda Pines Golf Club in South Australia’s Barossa Valley.

Albinski went into the final round with a three stroke lead and closed with a 2-over par 74 to be at 6-over for the 2011 championship.

“This is the greatest win as it now puts me in the company of the greats of senior golf including Tony Gresham, Rodney Barltrop and Trevor Wood who have won the title three times,” the Sydney golfer said.

“I played solidly all week without any silly errors. My worst score on any hole was a bogey which was good around this tight layout.”

Albinski previously won the championship at Royal Canberra Golf Club in 2010 and at Royal Perth Golf Club in 2008.

Joint 2007 champions Rick Oliver and Denis Dale, both also from NSW, finished second and third at 11-over and 14-over respectively.

Queensland’s Peter King finished tied with Paul Maslen (NSW) in fourth place.

The ACT’s Bill Banks finished in sixth place with Richard Greville (NSW).

The Age Division winners were: 55-59 Years – Paul Maslen (NSW) 231, 60-64 Years – Peter King (Qld) 231, 65-69 Years – Bill Banks (ACT) 232 and 70 Years and Over – Tony Gresham (NSW) 234.

The NSW team won the 2011 Interstate Senior Stroke Teams event by 18 strokes with Victoria in second place.

Top 10 Leading Scores:
222 Stefan ALBINSKI 73-75-74 NSW
227 Rick OLIVER 75-76-76 NSW
230 Denis DALE 76-76-78 NSW
231 Peter KING 76-78-77 QLD, Paul MASLEN 75-78-78 NSW
232 Richard GREVILLE 75-82-75 NSW, Bill BANKS 79-74-79 ACT
233 Graham BOWEN 76-79-78 WA
234 Anthony GRESHAM 76-79-79 & NSW
235 Chris TATT 83-77-75 VIC, Chris EVERETT 78-79-78 SA
Colin HALLAM 79-78-78 QLD



Leave a Reply