Senior amateurs end season on a high note

AUSTRALIA’S elite amateur senior golfers have ended the year on a high note with the national squad winning the Team Championship at the 2010 Asia Pacific Senior Championship and Sydney’s Stefan Albinski successfully defending his title at the 2010 Hong Kong Senior Amateur Championship.

The Asia Pacific Senior Championship was played at the Bangkok Golf Club and Australia entered the final round tied for the lead with New Zealand and two strokes in front of the Indian team.

In an exciting final round the Kiwis went to an early lead thanks to front nine sub par heroics by their stars Rodney Barltrop and Murray Martin but the Australians fought back to end the day three in front of their trans Tasman rivals.

India was another five strokes away in third

At the end of play the Australians had a narrow three stroke margin over the Kiwis with India another five strokes away in third place.
In the individual section the winner was Taimur Amin from Pakistan with a 54 hole total of 215 – one under par. The best placed Australian was Greg Corben who finished in equal fourth position on a total of 226.

The Australian team included Corben, Rick Oliver, Grahame MacDonald, Stefan Albinski, Peter King and John Beaumont.

Albinski wins in Hong Kong

Leading senior amateur Stefan Albinski successfully defended his title at the 2010 Hong Kong Senior Amateur Championship.

The Mona Vale golfer posted consistent rounds of 73-73-74 (220) to be a three stroke winner over fellow Australians John Beaumont (78-76-69=223) and Greg Corben (76-74-73=223) who tied for second.

Grahame MacDonald (75-78-73=226) finished in fourth place making it a clean sweep for the Australians.

Denis Dale wins 2010 NSW Senior Order of Merit
In other senior amateur news, Denis Dale has won the 2010 NSW Senior Order of Merit competition for the fourth time in the five year history of the event (Albinski won in 2008).

New senior Denis Day charged home with some great performances late in the season to claim second place.

Day currently has a handicap of +2 and will be one to watch in senior events throughout 2011.
Finishing in a tie for third place were Greg Stanford and Greg Corben, with the Over 65 medals being won by Jack Parker, Clark Gibbons and Geoff Lumsden.

A special award was given to three Iron Men – Barry Bray, Geoff Lumsden and Chris Collins who competed in 32 of the 35 events.

Percy takes the 2010 Victorian Senior Order of Merit

Ross Percy won seven events to take the Victorian Senior Order of Merit for the third time (2006-7, 2010).

Percy led the Doug Bachli from the start of the season, showing a clean pair of heels to second place getter Alan Bullas, with Ray Walker coming in third.

Australia’s elite senior amateur golfers will now no doubt spend the Christmas break following strict dietary regimes and amping up their personal fitness routines.

Leave a Reply