Leishman makes 2013 Presidents Cup

Leishman, 29, has top-12 finishes at this year’s Masters (T-4), PLAYERS Championship (T-8) and PGA Championship (T-12).
Leishman, 29, has top-12 finishes at this year’s Masters (T-4), PLAYERS Championship (T-8) and PGA Championship (T-12).

MARC LEISHMAN will join Adam Scott and Jason Day as Australia’s representatives for the 2013 Presidents Cup.

International team captain Nick Price named Leishman and Zimbabwe’s Brendon de Jong as his selections to join the 10 automatic qualifiers.

“It’s exciting for us to have three Australians on the team, and for me personally, it’s huge,” Leishman said.

“It was a big goal of mine for the last few years to get on this team, relying on a Captain’s pick wasn’t ideal, but to be lucky enough for Nick to pick me was awesome.”

“We have a big month ahead of us with the rest of the Playoffs and obviously Muirfield Village in early October. So it’s definitely a lot to look forward to.”

For Price, particularly with fellow South African Tim Clark one of the contenders, the decision wasn’t easy.

“Yesterday was probably one of the toughest days of my life,” said Price.

“I had it down to three guys – Marc, Brendon and Tim Clark. To try and separate the three of them and only pick two was an exceptionally difficult task.”

“You had experience on one hand with Tim, and then you had youth in the two rookies in Marc and Brendon.”

“When push came to shove, it came down to who I felt is going to play Muirfield the best.”

Couples names Simpson and Speith

On the US side, team captain Fred Couples went for World Number 25 Webb Simpson and rising star Jordan Speith.

Speith, 20, will be the youngest player ever to represent the US in the Presidents Cup and is also the first US PGA TOUR rookie to participate.

“I’m just super stoked and happy I woke up this morning and it wasn’t a dream,” Spieth said.

He had a powerful advocate in veteran cupper Phil Mickelson who played with Speith in the final round of the Deutsche Bank Championship when he shot a 62 to finish fourth. The rookie played the final four holes in 5-under, including an eagle on the 18th.

Mickelson texted a simple message to Couples: “Dude, you’ve got to pick this guy.”

The International Team will also have plenty of fresh blood with a record seven first-time players. That includes the two captain’s picks plus automatic qualifiers automatic qualifiers Louis Oosthuizen, Hideki Matsuyama, Branden Grace, Graham DeLaet and Richard Sterne.

The Presidents Cup will be held October 1-6 at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio.

The full team teams are:

International Team

1. Adam Scott

2. Jason Day

3. Charl Schwartzel

4. Ernie Els

5. Louis Oosthuizen

6. Hideki Matsuyama

7. Branden Grace

8. Graham DeLaet

9. Richard Sterne

10. Angel Cabrera

11. Marc Leishman

12. Brendon de Jong

US Team

1. Tiger Woods

2. Brandt Snedeker

3. Phil Mickelson

4. Matt Kuchar

5. Jason Dufner

6. Keegan Bradley

7. Steve Stricker

8. Bill Haas

9. Hunter Mahan

10. Zach Johnson

11. Webb Simpson

12. Jordan Spieth

Previous article2013 Australian Men’s Senior Amateur Underway: Leaderboard
Next articleMurray Martin takes 2013 Men’s Senior Amateur title

Brian is a former Sydney journalist who didn’t have a skerrick of interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded Australian Senior Golfer in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Tom Watson, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here