Sang-Moon Bae joins first time PGA Tour winners

Sang Moon Bae 595

SOUTH KOREA’S Sang-Moon Bae has become the eighth first-time winner on the US PGA Tour this year after taking out the 2013 Byron Nelson Championship.

The 26 year old overtook the tear-away first round leader Keegan Bradley down the stretch at the TPC Four Seasons Resort in Texas to win by a stroke.

Bae, in his second year on the tour, shot a final-round 1-under 69 to finish at 13 under, with Bradley shooting a 2-over 72 for 12 under. Charl Schwartzel was third at 10 under, with America’s Justin Bolli, after a bogey-free 65, in solo fourth.

Bae is the third first-time Tour winner in the last four weeks, joining Americans Billy Horschel and Derek Ernst.

“The course was really tough,” Bae said. “The winds were very strong. I did very well this week.”

Bradley shot a 10-under 60 in the first round but only had a one stroke lead over Bae going into the final round.

“I’m pretty disappointed but Moon played very well,” Bradley said. “He played better than me today, so I’m happy for him.”

Leishman tied for 12th

Marc Leishman (70) continued his good form and was the best placed Aussie finishing on 5-under tied for 12th while former champion Jason Day (72) never really contended after opening with a 2-over round. His third round 66 certainly helped him to a 2-under finish tied for 27th.

2013 Byron Nelson Championship Final Leaderboard
Previous articleGriffin wins 2nd OneAsia title
Next articleMcDowell climbs the heights in Bulgaria
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. A former Sydney journalist, he launched ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Adam Scott, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples and Karrie Webb. He has also reported on numerous amateur tournaments, particularly national senior and veteran events. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best Golf News Report 2016 - 2017.

Leave a Reply