Player, Nicklaus and Palmer back on the old turf

GOLFING legends Gary Player, Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer were back on the old turf together again today as they formed an enviable threesome playing in the traditional Par 3 Contest on the eve of the 2010 Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club.

The “Big Three” old stagers hammed it up a little for an adoring crowd but there were enough birdies and good shots in there to keep everyone happy and show they still have what it takes.

Nicklaus, 70, won the championship six times, 80 year old Palmer won it four times and seventy four year old Player finally hung up his Masters boots last year with three championships in the cabinet.

The Par 3 contest today was won by South Africa’s Louis Oosthuizen, who risks the jinx that no player has ever won it and the Masters in the same year.

Oosthuizen was six under for the nine holes, two ahead of a group of four players including David Duval, Honorary Invitee Jerry Pate, 16-year-old Matteo Manassero and K.J. Choi.

Jim Furyk and Graeme McDowell, both had holes-in-one on the ninth hole.

For the first time Par 3 contest was telecast on Australian free to air television on ONE HD.

The US Masters coverage will be show on TEN and ONE HD from 5.45 am to 9.30 am Friday and Saturday, 5.15 am to 9 am Sunday and the final round from 3.45 am till conclusion on Monday. (EST times)


Previous articleUS Masters 2010 Preview
Next articleA sockless Fred welcomes Tiger back to Augusta
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. A former Sydney journalist, he launched ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Adam Scott, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples and Karrie Webb. He has also reported on numerous amateur tournaments, particularly national senior and veteran events. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best Golf News Report 2016 - 2017.

Leave a Reply