Aussies make it three in a row at 2012 Asia-Pacific Senior Amateur

Australia’s winning Asia Pacific team – Roy Vandersluis (NSW), Richard Greville (NSW), Peter King (QLD), Alan Bullas (VIC), Denis Dale (NSW) and Stefan Albinski (NSW) Photo Courtesy of AUSOOM

AUSTRALIA has won a weather-affected 2012 Asia-Pacific Senior Amateur Golf Championship in Hong Kong.

NSW golfer Denis Dale led the way with a fine opening round 73 that also saw him take out the Individual Champion title.

As it turned out, low cloud made further play impossible and the event was declared after just one round.

The Australian team posted a total score of 301 from their best four rounds to beat New Zealand and take the title for the third year in a row.

Dale won the individual title by a stroke over joint runners-up New Zealander Frank Borren and Hong Kong’s William Cheung.

Newcomers to Asia-Pacific golf Richard Greville and Alan Bullas were the next best Aussies with scores of 75 and 76, while 2011 individual champion Peter King was the other contributor to the Australian tally with a 77.

Team captain Stefan Albinski and Roy Vandersluis both had scores of 78.

The rain, wind and foggy weather were a constant for the three days of the event but it didn’t stop the Australian team and their partners from having a great time in Hong Kong.

Final Individual Scores:

73 Denis Dale (Australia)

74 Frank Borren (NZ), William Chung (Hong Kong)

75 Arthur Parkin (NZ), Kun Pyo Hong (Korea)

75 Roddy Sage (HK), Richard Greville (Aust)

75 Herminio Marvaillia (Philippines)

76 Alan Bullas (Aust), Murray Martin (NZ)

77 Peter King (Aust)

78 Gongesh Khaitan (India), Stefan Albinski (Aust)

78 Roy Vandersluis (Aust), Luis Garcia (Philippines)

79 Michael Barltrop (NZ), Zainoldin Ahmad (Malaysia)

79 Chris McNamara (Aust)

80 Vijay Bhadana (India), Joe Pethes (HK),Andrew McKechnie (NZ)

Australia 301 (Dale 73, Greville 75, Bullas 76, King 77)

New Zealand 304 (Borren 74, Parkin 75, Martin 76, M. Barltrop 79)

Previous article2012 Emirates Australian Open TV Times
Next article2012 Emirates Australian Open Preview: Leaderboard
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply