Kiwis trounce Aussies in 2010 Senior Trans Tasman

Denis DaleNEW ZEALAND has continued its recent domination over Australia in senior amateur golf with a convincing win in the 2010 Trans Tasman Senior championship.

The Kiwis won the Presidents Cup style event by 18 points to 6, dominated both days of the tournament, played February 15-16 at the Clearwater Resort in Christchurch, New Zealand.

After holding a convincing overnight lead of 8 ½ to 3 ½ following the foursomes and fourball matches, the Aussies knew they were up against the wall, needing to take nine of the 12 single matches on the final day for an outright win.

The Australian team, led by New South Welshman Denis Dale, tried hard but in the end were no match for a home team that always seemed to have an answer when it came to the crunch.

The Kiwis won the singles matches 9 ½ to 2 ½ .

Overall, there were 17 matches over the two days that went to the 17th and 18th holes and the Kiwis won all but five of these.

Australia won the first two Trans Tasman events in 2007 and 2008 and with a win in 2009 and the latest result the Kiwis have now made the overall result all square.

The Australian team will have the chance to restore some lost pride when the next match is played at Sanctuary Cove Golf Club in 2011.

Previous articleCouples wins, Senior 11th
Next articleOgilvy a favourite for World Matchplay Championship
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply