New 12 man team to battle Kiwis

Kiwi ace Rodney Barltrop

THOSE pesky New Zealanders won the Senior Men’s Amateur Trans Tasman golf championship for the first time this year and here’s hoping the new 12 man Australian team just announced will turn the tables in 2010.

The 2010 Trans Tasman Sanctuary Cove Trophy will be played at the Clearwater Resort, Christchurch, New Zealand on February 15 – 16.

The annual event consists of foursomes, fourball and singles match play in a format similar to the Ryder and President’s Cups.

Australia rightfully won the first two Trans Tasman events in 2007 and 2008 until a disaster in May this year.

The Kiwis trounced the Aussies over two days at the Sanctuary Cove Golf Club.

The Kiwis won the singles matches 9-3 and including the Fourball and Foursome events the overall result was 16 to 8.

The strong Australian team hoping to restore order to the universe next year will be:

Stefan Albinski NSW   Bill Banks ACT
John Beaumont SA     Chris Coats QLD
Greg Corben NSW      Denis Dale NSW
Tony Gover ACT        Grahame MacDonald QLD
Ross Percy VIC          Ian Read QLD
Brian Sams NSW        Chris Tatt VIC
Phillip Billings (Non playing Captain)

The first of two selection trials for the New Zealand team has been completed and six  members of their team determined.

Murray Martin        Frank Borren     Ian Donaldson
Ron Olivecrona     Arthur Parkin     Rodney Barltrop





Rodney Barltrop further dented Australian pride this year by winning the Australian Senior Amateur Championship title on Bribie Island.

It really is time for the rightful order to be restored.


Previous articleAsian Tour on Fox Sport live
Next articleAustralian Open shaping as a fascinating four days
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply