Dale wins 2012 South Australian Senior Amateur

Denis Dale fought back to take his first senior ranking title of the year

SYDNEY golfer Denis Dale has won the 2012 South Australian Senior Amateur Championship after a tight tussle at the Barmera Golf Club on the Murray River.

Currently ranked 5th on the Australian Senior Men’s Ranking System, Dale shot rounds of 73, 72 and 75 to win by 2 shots from Alan Bullas (Vic) and John Beaumont (SA).

Dale, a two time national senior amateur champion, trailed overnight leader Beaumont by a stroke but fought back and took the lead with a birdie on the 10th.

On the par-five 18th all three placegetters still had a chance to take the title and all gave themselves the opportunity by setting themselves up with eagle putts.

Unfortunately for Bullas and Beamont none of the eagle chances were holed and when Dale stroked in his final birdie it was all over.

It was Dale’s first Australian Senior Men’s Ranking event win for 2012.

Final Scores:

230 Denis DALE 73 – 82 -75 (NSW)

232 Alan BULLAS 77 – 78 -77 (VIC)

232 John BEAUMONT 74 – 80 -78 (SA)

238 Ross PERCY 79 – 77 -82 (VIC)

238 Russell ROGERS 81 – 78 79 (NSW)

238 Ken BROWN 79 – 80 79 (SA)

239 Chris EVERETT 78 – 79 -82 (SA)

239 Tony HYDE 78 – 81 80 (VIC)

240 Graham BOWEN 77 – 85 78 (WA)

240 Alexander SMALL 81 – 81 78 (SA)

Previous articleScott in touch as Woods takes one up
Next articleBrandt Snedeker is the 2012 US$11.4 million man
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply