Ogilvy sneaks into Presidents Cup top 10

WITH just one US PGA Tour event to go before automatic Presidents Cup team selections are made, Geoff Ogilvy has snuck into the top 10.

Ogilvy edged out South Africa’s Louis Oosthuisen by a very slender margin after the 2010 British Open winner failed to make the cut last week at the KLM Open.

Ogilvy still needs to perform well at the BMW Championship in Chicago this week to ensure he will be making the short walk from his home adjacent to the Royal Melbourne fairways this November as a player rather than a spectator but the intricacies of the International team selection system have certainly dealt him an ace.

The US and International Presidents Cup teams comprise the top ten in the standings for each plus two captains picks each.

The automatic selections will be finalised early Monday (September 19) Australian time and captains Greg Norman and Fred Couples will then have a week to mull over their further selections.

Norman wrote last week that he would “wait till the dust settled” following the BMW Championship FedEx Cup playoff this weekend before fully applying his mind to the task, while Couples has already named Tiger Woods as one of his selections.

We fully discussed Norman and Couples selection dilemmas a few days back in this article: Will Norman pick two Aussies for the Presidents Cup.

The current stands are:

International Team

1 Jason Day (AUS)
2 Adam Scott (AUS)
3 Charl Schwartzel (RSA)
4 K.J. Choi (KOR)
5 Kyung-tae Kim (KOR)
6 Retief Goosen (RSA)
7 Ernie Els (RSA)
8 Y.E. Yang (KOR)
9 Ryo Ishikawa (JPN)
10 Geoff Ogilvy (AUS)

Next 10
11 Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)
*12 Tim Clark (RSA)
13 Vijay Singh (FIJI)
14 Aaron Baddeley (AUS)
15 Robert Allenby (AUS)
16 Rory Sabbatini (RSA)
17 Yuta Ikeda (JPN)
18 Richard Green (AUS)
19 Sang-Moon Bae (KOR)
20 Camillo Villegas (COL)
*Tim Clark is officially out due to Injury

US Team

1 Matt Kuchar
2 Steve Stricker
3 Dustin Johnson
4 Phil Mickelson
5 Nick Watney
6 Webb Simpson
7 Bubba Watson
8 Hunter Mahan
9 Jim Furyk
10 David Toms

Next 10
11 Brandt Snedeker
12 Bill Haas
13 Bo Van Pelt
14 Rickie Fowler
15 Zach Johnson
16 Jonathan Byrd
17 Ryan Moore
18 Jason Dufner
19 Mark Wilson
20 Keegan Bradley

The 2011 Presidents Cup will be played at Royal Melbourne from November 15 to 20.

Leave a Reply