2016 World Cup of Golf headed to Kingston Heath

Jason Day and Scott World Cup 595
Defending World Cup champions Jason Day and Adam Scott could be reunited in Melbourne in November

THE 2016 World Cup of Golf will be played at Kingston Heath Golf Club in November – the fifth time the prestigious event has been held in Australia but the first time it has strayed from Royal Melbourne.

Australia’s Jason Day is the defending individual champion, winning the team event with Adam Scott at the last playing of the cup in 2013.

Days will be an automatic selection this year and gets to choose his partner.

The format of the event this year, the 58th edition of the cup, will return to two man teams from 28 different countries squaring off over 72 holes on November 21-27.

With a prize purse of US$8 million available and the first-place team splitting US$2.56 million on a Kingston Heath course recently rated 18th best in the world it is sure to attract some of the planet’s best.

“The World Cup of Golf has a long and storied history as one of the true international events in our sport,” said US PGA TOUR Commissioner Tim Finchem this week as part of the official announcement.

“On behalf of the International Federation of PGA Tours, we are thrilled that a course with the reputation and standing such as Kingston Heath will serve as the tournament’s host venue in 2016. The fans in the Sandbelt region of Australia are some of the best in the world and our players consider themselves extremely fortunate every time they are able to play in an event of this stature in the Melbourne area.”

Day, with the birth of his second child last year, didn’t make it to any of the big Aussie events over the summer, but the World Cup should see him gracing our shores at least for a couple of tournaments.

“It’s great that the World Cup of Golf is going to Kingston Heath,” he said this week.

“The course has tremendous tradition and it is one of the reasons that Melbourne’s Sandbelt is considered home to several of the world’s great golf courses.”

2016 World Cup of Golf format and eligibility

The 2016 tournament will return to a 72-hole, stroke play, two-man team event format.  The first and third days of competition will be the foursomes (alternate shot) format and the second and final days are fourball (best ball) play.

The top 28 available players of different countries from the Official World Golf Ranking as of Monday, August 1, 2016 (Monday after the PGA Championship) will choose their teammates for the competition. As the defending Individual Champion of the 2013 World Cup of Golf, Jason Day will qualify automatically as the top-ranked player for Australia. Day will be allowed to choose his partner.  All other of the top 28 players have until Thursday, August 12, 2016, to commit to play in the tournament. The deadline for each exempt player to select his partner is August 26, 2016.

Previous World Cup of Golf events in Australia

Year Winning Country/Players
1959 Australia (Peter Thomson/Kel Nagle)
1972 Chinese Taipei (Hsieh Min-Nan/Lu Liang-Huan)
1988 United States (Ben Crenshaw/Mark McCumber)
2013 Australia (Jason Day/Adam Scott)


Previous Winners

The event boasts an impressive and prestigious list of winners that includes the likes of Jack Nicklaus, Davis Love III, Fred Couples, Nick Faldo, Seve Ballesteros, Arnold Palmer, Bernhard Langer, Sam Snead, Peter Thomson, Ben Hogan, Tiger Woods, Ernie Els and Jason Day, among many others.

Leave a Reply