Victorian Senior Open kicks off with a ‘Big Pot’ for Davis

Rodger DavisRODGER DAVIS and Gerry Power have taken out The Dunes Big Pot team event that served as a curtain raiser to the Victorian Senior Open Championship that begins today at the Dunes Golf Links in Rye.

Davis, the 1986 Australian Open Champion and Power, an amateur, claimed the $40,000 first prize of what is an innovative new format open to amateurs and professionals over 50 that has been likened to limited over cricket.

The four ball knockout matchplay event comprises teams consisting of a professional and amateur who play off the stick over nine holes.

Davis and Power won 2 up over 2008 Champions David Good and Paul Lulofs after teams battled over two days.

In a thrilling final peppered with birdies made by both pairs, Davis and Power combined well to finished five-under through the nine hole contest.

Attention has now turned to the 54 hole Peninsula Hot Springs Victorian Senior Open which commenced this morning.

The Senior Open is the 12th Order of Merit event on the 2010 Legends Tour and holds a prize purse of $35,000.

Previous articleNew home exchange travel site for older golfers
Next article‘Swing in the Sticks’ – new weekly regional radio show
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply