2012 Ryder Cup teams finalised

TEAMS for the 2012 Ryder Cup have been finalised with US Captain Davis Love 111 selecting Jim Furyk, Steve Stricker, Dustin Johnson and Brandt Snedeker to fill out his 12 member squad.

They will join automatic qualifiers Tiger Woods, Masters champion Bubba Watson, Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley, U.S. Open champion Webb Simpson, Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar and Phil Mickelson.

The European Team includes World No.1 Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose, Graeme McDowell, Paul Lawrie, Francesco Molinari, Luke Donald, Lee Westwood, Peter Hanson, Sergio Garcia and Martin Kaymer.

Jose Maria Olazabal used his two captain’s picks to select Ian Poulter and Nicolas Colsaerts.

The 2012 Ryder Cup takes place at the Medinah Country Club just outside of Chicago from September 28 to 30.

Though Europe has dominated the competition since 1995 – it has won six of the last eight events – it has won on U.S. soil only twice in the last 20 years.

Previous article2012 Australian Golf Development Forum
Next articleTop 10 Shots from the BMW Championship
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply