Ossie Moore Wins 2012 Queensland Senior PGA Championship

Ossie Moore has been giving himself some tips on the Legends Tour

POPULAR golfing identity Ossie Moore has won his first PGA Legends Tour title with an emphatic seven stroke victory at the 2012 Queensland Senior PGA Championship.

Moore fired a 1-over par 71 in blustery conditions at the Redland Bay Golf Club to finish the 36 hole event on even.

That was seven clear of joint runners-up Larry Canning, Paul A. Dalgleish and Kenneth C Oung.

Former Australian Senior PGA Champion Lyndsay Stephen finished alone in 5th a stroke further back.

“It’s really great to finally get my first win. After some minor adjustments to my short game and putting recently I’m definitely seeing the improvements pay dividends” Moore said. “To be able to finish the Queensland stage with a win is fantastic and to win this title as my first is very humbling.”

With the Queensland swing of the Legends Tour finalised, the Australian senior professional golfing action moves to Victoria in late September.

2012 Queensland Senior PGA Championship Final Results
Previous articleWatney wins Barclays, seven Aussies still in FedEx hunt
Next articlePeter Fowler keeps European title hopes alive
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply