Jackson wins Cobram-Barooga Senior playoff

Michael Jackson and Ross PercyVICTORIAN Michael Jackson has birdied the first playoff hole to down Ross Percy in a tight finish to the 2009 Cobram-Barooga Senior Open Championship.

Both players recorded final rounds of 75 for 54 hole totals of 225 in the Australian Senior Order of Merit amateur event.

Jackson had also won this event in 2006 and along with Percy is the current joint leader of the Victorian Senior Order of Merit.

Third place was a tie between 36 hole leader Chris Tatt and gun NSW senior Rick Oliver.

Some 160 players representing 64 club competed in the various sections of the tournament, held at the Cobram-Barooga Golf Club on the NSW – Victoria border.

Photo: Victorians Michael Jackson (left) and Ross Percy. Courtesy of AUSOOM

Final Results

Position Points TOTAL Last First Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 State

1 100 225 JACKSON Michael 75 75 75 Vic Yarra Yarra

2 82 225 PERCY Ross 79 71 75 Vic Cobram

3 71 227 OLIVER Rick 75 76 76 NSW Young

3 71 227 TATT Chris 78 71 78 Vic Buninyong

5 63 238 TAYLOR John 80 78 80 Vic Medway

5 63 238 ROGERS Russell 77 77 84 NSW Tura Beach

7 56 239 SMITH Ray 81 77 81 Vic Cowes

7 56 239 BULLAS Alan 80 78 81 Vic Commonwealth

7 56 239 BYWATERS Peter 81 74 84 Vic Cranbourne

10 50 240 KRALL Guy 78 82 80 Vic Yarra Yarra

10 50 240 CANN Stephen 77 76 87 Vic Bright

Previous articleSean O’Hair: great golfer, lousy speller
Next articleAustralian golf to adopt US handicap system
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply