2009 Senior Men’s Trans Tasman

THE Kiwis are hoping for big things this year when they take on Australia for the 2009 Senior Men’s Trans Tasman golf title to be played at Sanctuary Cove in May.

This will be the third year the now annual Ryder and President’s Cup format event has been held and Australia has won the first two.

In 2007 Australia won 19 matches to 5 at Sanctuary Cove Golf Club and in 2008 Australia defeated New Zealand 13.5 matches to 10.5 at Titirangi Golf Club.

Both countries have announced strong 12 man teams for the event.

Writing on the AUSOOM website, three-time Australian representative Denis Dale says the 2009 contest should be very close.

“The Kiwis are much better prepared and this time have used selection trials to ensure a high quality side,” Dale says.

“With a few ‘old heads’ like Rodney Barltrop in the team they will certainly use the experience gained from the inaugural match that was also played at Sanctuary Cove in 2007.”

Australia will field a  formidable team that blends experience with six talented newcomers, including current Australian Senior Amateur Champion Stefan Albinski.

The Australian team is Denis Dale, Rick Oliver, Norm Way, John Beaumont, Brian Sams, Stefan Albinski, Ross Percy, Grahame MacDonald, Nigel Goodall, Ian Read, Tony Kennings and Ross Bockman.

The Kiwi line-up includes Murray Martin, Martin Webber, Ron, Olivecrona, Rodney Barltrop, Hugh Harrison, Arthur Parkin, Ian Donaldson, Eric Brodie, Phil Mosley, Barry Shannon, John Sanders and Mike Leitch.


Previous articleSir Bob still belting it out at 73
Next articleAustralia Adopts USGA Course Rating System
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply