Entries open for 2009 Men’s Senior Amateur Championship

Stefan AlbinskiENTRIES are now open for the 2009 Australian Men’s Senior Amateur Championship to be played at the picturesque Bribie Island Golf Club in Queensland.

The championship has been played since 1981 and has become one of Australia’s great men’s senior events.

The event, to be played from May 12 to 14 over 54 holes of stroke play, is open to golfers aged 55 plus with a handicap limit of 6.4.

NSW golfer Stefan Albinski (pictured) won the event at Royal Perth last year in his initial senior year and is again expected to make a very strong showing.

There will be a host of other talented golfers in the maximum field of 144 who will be pushing him all the way, including joint 2007 winners Denis Dale and Rick Oliver.

Entries close on April 14.

What: 2009 Australian Men’s Senior Amateur Championship
When: 12-14 May 2009
Where: Bribie Island Golf Club, QLD
Club website: Bribie Island Golf Club
Location: Links Court, Woorim, Bribie Island, QLD 4507
Championship Format: 54 Holes Stroke Play
Handicap Limit: 6.4
Entry Fee: $150.00 (on-line); $170.00 (via fax, e-mail, mail or in person)
Entry Close: 14 April 2009
Golf Australia Details and Entry Form

Previous articleTasmania Senior Open 2009
Next articleTiger Woods: The “Secret” Revealed
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply