Australian Men’s Mid Amateur Golf Championship

See updated news and results of 2009 Championship

The 2009 Australian Men’s Mid Amateur Golf Championship, open to golfers aged 30 to 54 with a handicap less than 7.4, will be played from January 20 – 22 at The National Golf Club on the Mornington Peninsula, Victoria.

The 2008 event was a huge success with Victoria’s Jason Perry finishing strongly to take the title.

As Perry discovered, winning the championship gives a direct exemption to the Australian Open, and next year’s winner will have the opportunity to play in the 2009 Australian Open at the New South Wales Golf Club.

All three courses at the National Golf Club – The Old Course, Moonah and Ocean Courses – will be utillised for the 54 hole event in January.

Golf Australia says the National is a fantastic golfing facility and a one of its kind in Australia that will provide a fantastic challenge for players from all parts of the country.

Trevor Herden, Golf Australia Director of Championships, said, “This is a fantastic opportunity for the golfers in this demographic to test their skills against their peers over three championship courses at one of the best facilities in the country.”

What: 2009 Australian Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship
When: 20 – 22 January 2009
Where: The National GC, Victoria
Format: 54 holes stroke play (max 120 players)
Courses: The Old Course, Moonah and Ocean Courses ( 1 round on each)
Handicap Limit: 7.4
Location: 10 The Cups Drive, Cape Schanck (Mornington Peninsula), Victoria
Entry Fee: $150.00 (on-line); or $170.00 (mail, fax, or e-mail)
Entries Open: 28 October 2008
Entry Close: 5 January 2009

Golf Australia Championship Entry Form

Previous articleGolf pushing for inclusion as Olympic sport
Next articleSeniors tour renamed PGA Legends Tour
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017


  1. I’d like to know who was the winner and runner up for the Australian Mid Amateur golf championship in 2008?

  2. Victorian Jason Perry won the 2008 MFS Men’s Mid Amateur crown at The National Golf Club. His 216 three round total beat joint runners up Paul Blake and Matthew McKenna by one shot.

Leave a Reply