Final week for 2016 World Cup of Golf qualifying

Peter Thomson World Cup 595

WITH the World Cup of Golf set to grace the fairways of Kingston Heath in November this is the final week for players to secure their spot in the historic event.

As of Monday, August 1, positions in the Official World Golf Ranking which will be used for players and countries to qualify for the World Cup will be officially locked in.

Golf’s final major championship is this week at the US PGA Championship offering players that ability to make a significant jump in the rankings with a strong finish.

Last week, Venezuela’s Jhonattan Vegas won the RBC Canadian Open for his second career PGA TOUR victory which moved him from No. 203 to No. 86 in the world, earning him a spot in the field to represent Venezuela should he commit.

“We have arrived at a critical time in identifying the 28 qualifying players who will choose their partner to represent their country at Kingston Heath in November,” said Executive Director Matt Kamienski. “Players not already qualified have one final opportunity to compete for the right to represent their country on global stage in a team-oriented format, and we look forward to soon finalizing the 28 two-man teams that will represent their countries in Melbourne.”

Once qualified, players will have until August 15 to officially commit to the event. After qualifying and committing, those 28 players will select a partner of their choosing from the same country, provided such player is ranked among the top 500 on the Official World Golf Rankings as of either August 1, 2016 or August 22, 2016. Each player will have until August 26 to select his partner.

Tickets and hospitality packages starting at $30 are now available by visiting the World Cup of Golf website at

The World Cup of Golf will be held from November 23-27.

Previous World Cup of Golf events in Australia:

Year       Winning Country/Players           

1959       Australia (Peter Thomson (pictured above/Kel Nagle)    

1972       Chinese Taipei (Hsieh Min-Nan/Lu Liang-Huan)

1988       United States (Ben Crenshaw/Mark McCumber)

2013       Australia (Jason Day/Adam Scott)

2016 Format

The 2016 tournament will return to a 72-hole, stroke play, two-man team event format.  The first and third days of competition will be the foursomes (alternate shot) format and the second and final days are fourball (best ball) play.

Previous articleCourse renovations for top rating Brookwater Golf & Country Club
Next articleDay eagles last but Walker still soars at 2016 US PGA Championship
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply