US Wins Ryder Cup

Jim Furyk hugs Justin Leonard after securing the Ryder Cup

Jim Furyk hugs Justin Leonard after defeating Spain’s Miquel Angel Jimenez to secure the Ryder Cup for the US after three successive European victories.

The United States have won The Ryder Cup for the first time since 1999, ending a run of three successive victories for Europe.

Jim Furyk secured the winning point, defeating Miguel Angel Jiménez on the 17th green to take the US total to an insurmountable 14 ½ points.

Victory in the top singles match by Anthony Kim over Sergio Garcia set the tone for the day at the Valhalla Golf Club in Kentucky.

While Paul Casey secured a battling half with Hunter Mahan and Robert Karlsson and Justin Rose both delivered for Europe, defeating Justin Leonard and Phil Mickelson, the next four matches all went to the US.

The two home town Kentuckians played their part, Kenny Perry getting the better of Henrik Stenson 3 & 2 and J B Holmes holding off Soren Hansen 2&1. Boo Weekley was also sensational in beating Oliver Wilson 4&2.

The end came when Furyk safely parred the 17th hole after Jiménez failed a 25 foot birdie chance that would have extended the the match for another hole.


Previous articleCallaway Golf FT-iQ Driver
Next articleTiger Woods vs Adam Scott golf swing
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply