Denis Dale shows his class with strong 2016 NSW Veteran strokeplay win

Denis Dale _2-16 vets win_plus

LEADING senior amateur golfer Denis Dale showed all his class with a wire to wire win at the 2016 NSW Veteran Golfers Association Strokeplay   Championship in Western Sydney.

The two-time Australian Senior Amateur Champion was playing his first ever veterans event and confirmed the title with a superb par final round at the Greg Norman designed Stonecutters Ridge Golf Club on Wednesday.

Dale had opened the 54 hole event with a 1-over 71 at the Richmond Golf Club on Monday, followed by a par 72 at Penrith Golf Club in the second round, capped off by his strong final round 72 for an almost flawless 215 total.

Whilst the 68 year old Dale from the Twin Creeks Golf Club in Sydney has played all over Australia, and internationally, on the elite senior amateur circuit, he had never previously played an official veteran golf event.

Second place went to Penrith senior David Limbach (75-77-73=225 pictured left) who edged out four time winner and defending champion Col Kenning from Kiama Golf Club (72-73-81=226 pictured right).

Tournament organisers were delighted that the event, this year in its 24th staging, had for the first time attracted a full field of 144 golfers –and with a waiting list.

A decision by Golf NSW to include the tournament as a NSW Senior Order of Merit event certainly helped to attract the strong field, which included many near scratch markers. (Over 60 players in the full field of 144 were single-figure handicap players).

“When our Association (Western Sydney Regional Veteran Golfers Association [WSRVGA]) commenced hosting this event a couple of years ago in 2014, we never expected the event to grow to such an extent that we would have a full field with a reserve list,” said tournament director Les Knox.

Knox was proud to announce the NSWVGA had granted Western Sydney hosting rights for a further 4 years.

All those who took part certainly praised the organising committee for a flawlessly run tournament.

“I have really enjoyed this tournament and will return to Western Sydney to defend my title next year,” a delighted Dale said.

[ASG will publish a full feature on Dale’s great win, his long and distinguished golfing career, and this event, soon]

2016 NSW VGA Strokeplay Championship Photo Gallery


Final Leading Scores

215 Denis Dale 71-72-72
225 David Limbach 75-77-73
226 Col Kenning 72-73-81
228 Laurie Cupples 78-73-77, James Hogg 76-75-77


Only one trophy per player. Trophies allocated in the following order.

Event 1: Strokeplay Champion and Winner of Des Coady Shield $400
(Sponsored by Warren Saunders Insurance Brokers)

Denis Dale (Twin Creeks) 71,72,72 = 215

Event 2: Strokeplay Champion Runner Up $200

David Limbach (Penrith) 75,77,73 = 225

Event 3: Overall nett winner $200

Fred Wernicke (Stonecutters Ridge) 67,67,63 = 197 c/b

Event 4: Overall nett runner up $150

Col Faulkner (Rosnay) 61,71,65 = 197

Event 5: Aged Champion 54 hole scratch Div 1. (55-64) $120

Laurie Cupples (Leonay) 78,73,77 = 228 c/b

Event 6: Aged Champion 54 hole scratch Div 2. (65-69) $120

Col Kenning (Kiama) 72,73,81 = 226

Event 7: Aged Champion 54 hole scratch Div. 3 (70 & over) $120

Gary Poland (Fox Hills) 77,81,76 = 234

Event 8: Scratch winner 54 hole Div. 1 (0-9) $120

James Hogg (Stonebridge) 76, 75,77 = 228

Event 9: Nett winner 54 hole Div 1. (0-9) $120

Clark Gibbons (Penrith) 69,71,73 = 213

Event 10: Scratch winner 54 hole Div 2. (10-15) $120

Geoff Yates (Leonay) 83,81,85 = 249

Event 11: Nett winner 54 hole Div 2. (10-15) $120

Jim Bulloch (Richmond) 68,74,70 = 212

Event 12: Scratch winner 54 hole Div 3. (16-36) $120

Ken Powell (Richmond) 87,97,94 = 278

Event 13: Nett winner 54 hole Div 3. (16-36) $120

Tom Milican (Fox Hills) 68,76,75 = 219

Event 14: Scratch winner day one, Div 1. (0-10) $50

Sal Ballard (Penrith) 73

Event 15: Nett winner day one, Div 1. (0-10) $50

Geoff Shute (Dunheved) 70

Event 16: Scratch winner day one, Div 2. (11-17) $50

Gary Denny (Leonay) 81

Event 17: Nett winner day one, Div 2. (11-17) $50

David Shearer (Wallacia) 71

Event 18: Scratch winner day one, Div 3. (18-36) $50

Alberto Viola (Penrith) 85

Event 19: Nett winner day one, Div 3. (18-36) $50

Alan Davies (Richmond) 66

Event 20: Scratch winner day two, Div 1. (0-10) $50

David McClelland (Wyong) 73

Event 21: Nett winner day two, Div 1. (0-10) $50

Jim Malkus (Cabramatta) 70c/b

Event 22: Scratch winner day two, Div 2. (11-16) $50

Ron Armstrong (Cabramatta) 83

Event 23: Nett winner day two, Div 2. (11-16) $50

Colin Jarvis (Riverside Oaks) 70

Event 24: Scratch winner day two, Div 3. (17-36) $50

Jose Fernandez (Richmond) 87

Event 25: Nett winner day two, Div 3. (17-36) $50

Phillip Mizzi (Fox Hills) 67

Event 26: Scratch winner day three, Div 1. (0-11) $50

Richard Souter (Murwillumbah) 75

Event 27: Nett winner day three, Div 1. (0-11) $50

Michael Watson (Hunter Valley) 71

Event 28: Scratch winner day three, Div 2. (12-17) $50

Steven Loader (Stonecutters) 82

Event 29: Nett winner day three, Div 2. (12-17) $50

Paul Price (Oxley) 70

Event 30: Scratch winner day three, Div 3. (18-36) $50

Denis Fuller (Dunheved) 88

Event 31: Nett winner day three, Div 3. (18-36) $50

Alan Wickett (Horizons) 69


Roy Shuttleworth (North Ryde) 10th hole at Richmond.

Previous article2016 NSW Veteran Golfers Strokeplay Championship Photo Gallery
Next articleJason Day relishing 2016 US Masters as world number one
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply