Rules Quiz No 2

 On a steep, fast green a player putts the ball above the hole.  The player marks, lifts and cleans the ball and replaces the ball.  Then, before the marker was lifted, the ball rolls off the green.  What is the ruling?

       a)   The player may replace the ball at the marked position.

       b)   The player must play the ball as it lies

 

Answer

This depends on whether the ball, when replaced remained at rest on the spot on which it was placed for a moment before it started to move. (The fact that the marker had not been lifted is irrelevant as it is only an indicator of where the ball should be replaced.) 

If, when released from the fingers, the ball stayed at rest for a moment before rolling;  Answer b) the ball must be played as it lies.  

If, on the other hand, the ball immediately moved as it was released;  Answer a) the player is required to replace the ball – (Rule 20-3d)

 

This quiz item was supplied by Cliff Nunn. Cliff is a Victorian Golf Association (VGA)  State Accredited Rules Official.  

Previous articleAustralian golf tour schedule
Next articleAustralian golf legends compete in Queensland
Brian is an award winning golf writer and is the founder and editor of Australian Senior Golfer. He is a former Sydney journalist who had little interest in golf till he hit his first ball at the age of 49 (and a half). Since then golf has just about overtaken his life. Brian founded ASG in April 2008 and has since covered every Australian Open, Presidents Cups, World Cups and numerous other big men’s and women’s tournaments, spending days inside the ropes with the likes of Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth, Tom Watson, Fred Couples, Greg Norman, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Karrie Webb, and many others. He has also played in, and reported on, numerous amateur tournaments, particularly senior and veteran events, around the country. Brian is a member of the Australian Golf Media Association and won the award for Best News Report for 2016 - 2017

Leave a Reply