Archive | Rules Quiz

golf-ball-near-hole-595

New “DJ” rule for golfers accidentally moving a ball on the putting green

COMMON sense for once reigns in the golfing world with the powers that be announcing a new local rule that says there will be no penalty if a ball is accidentally moved on the putting green. INFOGRAPHIC

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Featured, Latest Golf News, Rules Quiz0 Comments

golf-rules-infographic

A Guide to Golf’s Most Unusual Rules

HOW well do you know the Rules of Golf? Back in 1744 it wasn’t so hard to master them, after all there were only 13 rules and the official “rulesbook” only comprised half a page.   The rules booklet is now more encyclopedic and even if you think you know it all quite well there […]

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Featured, Rules Quiz0 Comments

Immoveable drops

Golf Rules: Taking Relief from Immovable Obstructions

HERE’S another golf rules area that causes confusion with many golfers: taking relief from immovable obstructions. When, where, why and how can you do it.

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Rules Quiz0 Comments

golf stroke generic 595

Golf Rules: Common mistakes players make

MOST club golfers learn about the Rules of Golf from their playing partners … which means there are a lot of golfing myths and inaccuracies passed around.

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Featured, Rules Quiz0 Comments

Pitch Marks: Repairing Pitch Marks that interfere with putts: Golf Rules Video

WE all pretty much know you can repair pitch marks when you’re on the putting green and there’s a divot in the way of your intended line. But the rules covering putting from the fringe can be a bone of contention for some.

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Rules Quiz0 Comments

golf-ball-cup

Ball moves on putting green – GA Golf Rules Video

GOLF Australia has highlighted this timely golf rules video on the often asked situation where a ball moves after being marked on the putting green.

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Rules Quiz0 Comments

Rules of Golf bunker question

Rules of Golf bunker question

BUNKERS can not only be difficult to get out of at times they can also be a minefield when it comes to the Rules of Golf. One of our readers, Andrew Janiak, obviously had a lively discussion with his playing partner over a bunker incident and the interpretation of the rules during a recent round. […]

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Rules Quiz4 Comments

QUESTION: In a stableford round Tom putted up just 50 cm short of the hole, he properly marked his ball, put the ball in his pocket and tended the flag for the other players. By accident when replacing the ball on the mark he substituted another ball and subsequently sunk the putt?

 

What is the ruling?

 

1. Tom is penalized two strokes and must replace the proper ball on the mark before putting out
2. Tom is penalized one stroke and must re-take the putt using the original ball
3. Tom is penalized two strokes and the putt counts

Golf Rules Quiz No 6

QUESTION: In a stableford round Tom putted up just 50 cm short of the hole, he properly marked his ball, put the ball in his pocket and tended the flag for the other players. By accident when replacing the ball on the mark he substituted another ball and subsequently sunk the putt? What is the […]

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Rules Quiz1 Comment

With the very windy weather of late, Golf Rules Quiz No 5 is very pertinent.

John’s drive comes to rest on a steep slope through the green. Fearing that the ball may move, he does not address the ball (i.e. he does not ground the club) nor does he do anything else that might cause the ball to move. However, during his back swing the ball begins to move and he strikes the ball while it is in motion.

What is the ruling?

Golf Rules Quiz No 5

With the very windy weather of late, Golf Rules Quiz No 5 is very pertinent. John’s drive comes to rest on a steep slope through the green. Fearing that the ball may move, he does not address the ball (i.e. he does not ground the club) nor does he do anything else that might cause […]

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Rules Quiz2 Comments

A PLAYER'S ball comes to rest on a cart path such that his nearest point of relief is behind the obstruction.  He properly determines his point of relief and lifts and drops the ball in accordance with Rule 24-2b.  The ball rolls and comes to rest nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief but not nearer the hole than where it originally lay on the path.  What is the procedure?  (a)  The player must re-drop the ball. (b) The dropped ball is in play.

Golf Rules Quiz No 4

A PLAYER’S ball comes to rest on a cart path such that his nearest point of relief is behind the obstruction. He properly determines his point of relief and lifts and drops the ball in accordance with Rule 24-2b. The ball rolls and comes to rest nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief […]

Share

Read the full story

Posted in Rules Quiz0 Comments

Follow ASG on Social Media

Search ASG Content with Google

Custom Search

Follow ASG on Twitter

Ausoom banner_2015 300
Featured in Alltop